A Peek at What’s to Come

 “Decorate your home. It gives the illusion that your life is more interesting than it really is.”
~ Charles M. Schulz

Recently, as I dreamt about the rooms of our new apartment, I began to worry that we had never really pinned down a specific decor style. Now, I’m not really one to have a “themed” space, or to stick to just one color, or to choose something so in mode that we’ll have to redecorate within the month. But I do realize the importance of tying things together just enough that the space feels connected. As I reviewed our online registries (which are, by the way, extremely addicting), I started to wonder if our choices were going to feel more disjointed than eclectic. So, I decided to take a hint from one of my fave daily reads and create a mood board for each of our rooms.

What is a mood board, you may ask? Well, a month ago, before I started reading up on home decorating blogs, I would have asked the same thing. A mood board is simply a collection of images (usually created in Photoshop or the like) that portray the mood of a space. If you’ve never seen a mood board before, please click here or here and look at a few created by more-experienced decorators. In other words, please don’t let my amateur try below steal your mood board virginity.

Here’s my first try at a mood board. (Please don’t laugh.) I have mentioned that my graduate degree is in education, right? And certainly not home ec.

Living Room Mood Board

I pulled this together using photos of items we’ve registered for and ones we already own. The background color is an approximate version of what I’d like to paint that room–through it will probably be a shade or two lighter (I’m really not all the adventurous.) Some of the objects are just similar to what we own. But, all in all, it gives a pretty good idea of the feel of our future living room.

What do you think? 

 

2 thoughts on “A Peek at What’s to Come

  1. Pingback: Sharing Closet Space

  2. Pingback: Basking in Our Basketed Bathroom « Sharing Closet Space

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

