Dinner for Six

Last night I hosted my first dinner party. (Not inclusive of the few times I made spaghetti for friends in college.) This was a true-to-form, used-real-plates, cooked-four-dishes, honest-to-goodness dinner party.

Fun fact about Katie: I began my college career as a journalism major, writing “full-time” for the campus newspaper. (I use quotes, because full time here implies writing two stories per week for minimum wage.) So, in honor of this tidbit of my personal history, let’s cover the ins-and-outs of this event.

THE WHO: My mom, my dad, my cousin, my husband, an ex-baby-sitting charge, and me.

)

Dinner Party Guests

THE WHAT: Asparagus & Tomato Salad (from Taste of Home Diet Cookbook), Fiber-ific Chicken Tenders (by Hungry Girl), Roasted Red Potatoes (by my hubby–you’ll have to ask him for that recipe), and Apple Crisp (recipe found below) with Edy’s Slow Churn Vanilla Ice Cream. After-dinner entertainment was a rousing game of Apples to Apples.

This salad is quickly becoming a staple in our household.

THE WHEN: Approx. 5:58pm – 8:57pm

THE WHERE: Our apartment

THE WHY: That’s a complicated story. But, basically, my wedding was a fabulous place for match-making.

THE HOW: We spent the later-afternoon cooking together.

"You're messing up my crumbs!"

"Are you sure we need this many apples?"

DE-BRIEFING: All in all, the dinner party was determined a success. Delicious (and healthy!) food was eaten, fun (and fascinating!) games were played. Oh, and we scored three bottles of wine. Sweet!

My Mom’s Magnificent Apple Crisp

lots of apples

1 stick margarine or 1/2 C margarine (this is the healthiest part)

1/2 C + 1/4 C Splenda (divided)

3/4 C flour

cinnamon

Core all the apples, and slice ’em up into small slices. Put sliced apples in a 9 in. x 9 in. pan or maybe a pie pan. Either one will work. These apples should be mounded up over the top. Apples really cook down. Sprinkle 1/4 C Splenda and some cinnamon on top.

For the topping, combine the remaining ingredients in a food processor. It should create a crumbly topping. Or, if it’s not crumbly (like mine was), crumble it with your fingers as you top the apples.

Bake at 450 for ten minutes, then turn the oven down to 350 and bake for another 30-40 minutes, or until the top starts to look browned. I like to leave it a little gooey still.

5 thoughts on “Dinner for Six

  1. Oh, so fun! I love playing games, and your food looked and sounded so good. We should just start calling you Susie Homemaker ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks Sherri ๐Ÿ™‚

      For the potatoes, he basically just quarters some red potatoes, sprays them with a little olive oil, then sprinkles some sort of seasoning on the (whatever sounds good at the moment!). Then, we just toss them in the oven with whatever’s already cooking. It’s about as simple as possible, but (especially with some BBQ sauce), especially delicious.

  2. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions Part 2 | Sharing Closet Space

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

