Resolutions Revisited

If you have a Mac, you are probably familiar with Stickies. For those of you who still live in the PC-world, Stickies are basically ePost-Its that you can use on your computer. I LOVE stickies. I use them for usernames/passwords, Christmas wishlists, books to read, hotel confirmation numbers, etc. Upon opening Stickies today, I found one I created last year at this time. I must have know this was going to be a more permanent sticky, because I took the time to add a title in a fancy font. The sticky reads:

Resolutions
eat less processed foods
walk delilah daily
run another 1/2 marathon
make time for myself
be more tolerant (of others and of myself)
form & maintain friendships

Now, being the last week of 2011, seems to be a good time to reflect on this particular sticky. I clearly remember typing this list; feeling inspired by my success with my 2010 resolution (drink only one Diet Coke/day), I was feeling particularly optimistic.

eat less processed foods

One of our favorite fresh vegetable dishes--found in this cookbook

I’m feeling pretty good about this one. Although I still enjoy the occasional Fiber One bar or Goldfish cracker snack, my intake of fruits, vegetables, and lean meats has gone up, I’ve switched from instant to regular oatmeal, and I’ve nixed the 100-calorie packs.

walk delilah daily

Cannot honestly cross this one out… We got into a pretty good habit this summer when the weather was nice, but now that it’s starting to get colder (and we’ve gotten busier), we use the excuse that our 5-lb. dogs get plenty of exercise just playing in our apartment.

run another 1/2 marathon

No, I do not know that guy--but he sure seems intent on beating me!

Woo-hoo! Goal achieved.

make time for myself

My favorite way to relax

One word I’ve learned this year is one that I hear most people actually acquire first in life. I guess, in this instance, I was a little behind the learning curve. The particular word I’m talking about is “No.” At the time that I made this resolution, I was working four jobs on top of student teaching, planning a wedding, on a church committee, involved in three choirs, and job searching. This year, I learned that it doesn’t mean I’m a failure, it’s not going to offend anyone (and if it does, oh well!), and it’s actually quite healthy to just say no. I now know that the time I spend catching up on my Netflix Instant Queue or reading a book just for fun is actually just as important as my other commitments. Why? Because I’ve made a commitment to myself, to keep my sanity, and out of respect for myself, I need to keep it.

be more tolerant (of others and of myself)

In all honesty, I cannot say that I accomplished this resolution this year. If this blog post has any truth in it (and it does), I still have a ways to go. A step in the right direction: I now realize when I’m being impatient/judgmental/unfair (most of the time). Now I just need to figure out how to turn those thoughts around…

form & maintain friendships

My bachelorette party

First of all, I have to say that this resolution was not some kind of “I have no friends” pity party. In December of 2010, I was in that awkward in-between stage; I’d just graduated college, where I had a group of friends, and moved home, whereas most of my high school friends were still living out of state. My goal in 2011 was to meet or reconnect with some KC-area people, while maintaining my friendships with those long-distance people. This December, I am feeling much more settled in KC. I’ve enjoyed getting to know the other women in my Thursday night Faith Club, I’ve reconnected with some friends from the past, and kept in touch with those who still live far away. So, all in all, I would rate this resolution a success.

In the next five days, I’ll be coming up with my resolutions for 2012. Some will be re-commitments, others will be new… I’ll keep you updated. In the mean time, what are your hopes, dreams, or goals for the new year?


3 thoughts on “Resolutions Revisited

  1. Katie, this is a great post for me to tell you that since our conversation last winter about strength training/healthy eating, I have been working out with a personal trainer (goal: to gain weight via muscle mass), gained an appreciation for and interest in learning about nutrition and fitness, and have even been so inspired to take my career in this direction! I am still working my current job, but I just started working part time in a chiropractic office where there is a large emphasis on whole body health and health promotion. All this to say…thank you for your kind words of wisdom earlier this year! It was just what I needed to get a boost in my own personal health goals and take the first steps. So I guess my next year’s resolution is to maintain last year’s goals! šŸ™‚

  2. Those resolutions you have made and those you have met show so much about what I love about you. You are such a kind, loving person. A Dad couldn’t be prouder!
    As for me and my resolutions this year:
    1. Find the right way to get even healthier than I am now (lose wieght of course, but do it the right way).
    2. Emphasize those things in my life that are so important to me: 1. Family, 2. Depth of Spirituality, 3. Being present when others need me to be.
    3. Take pleasure in the current moment of life (happiness cannot be found in the future and is only nostalgia when viewed in the past).
    Love your blog!
    Dad :=))

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

