Queen of Babble by Meg Cabot

I’ve recently discovered the wonderful land of book blogging. Book blogs, for those of you who don’t venture far into the blogging world (besides my insightful ramblings, that is), are exactly what they sound–blogs strictly about books. I’ve been reading some of Dana’s stuff at Much Madness is Divinest Sense for awhile, and she gave me the idea to try the Mixing It Up Challenge this year, hosted by Ellie at Musings of a Bookshop Girl. Then, more recently, I stumbled across Forever Young Adult, a blog committed to young adult literature. I could hardly contain my excitement when I noticed a link to Meg Cabot’s blog, who has been one of my oh-so-very-favorite authors since I discovered the Princess Diaries in about sixth grade.

Since I can’t pretend that Sharing Closet Space is a particularly focused blog (you’ll find posts on everything from weddings to running to just how cute my puppies are), I’ve decided to add yet another facet to my broad base of topics. Besides just keeping you updated on my progress in the Mixing It Up Challenge this year, I’ve decided to keep a running log of the books I read in 2012. This is really for selfish reasons, more than anything else–I want to be able to go back on New Year’s Eve and reminisce about all the pages I’ve turned in the past 365 366 days (it’s a leap year!). I want to run the facts, like, “I’ve read x number of books this year, x amount of which were by new-to-me authors, x amount of which were fiction, x amount of which were classics, etc., etc.”

Why not keep a list like this to myself? Well, because how much more fun will it be for you to keep track with me, tell me what you’ve read or would like to read, and recommend books I might like? I’m hoping this year, my friends, we can start a bit of a conversation on Sharing Closet Space. So far, I feel like I’ve been talking at you… and if I’ve learned anything in my education classes, it’s that the best things happen in conversation.

So, it’s happened. If you venture on up to the top of my blog, you’ll see a new tab labeled “Book Log“. This is where the list will be housed, and if you click on it now, you’ll see the very first book I read in 2012.

Queen of Babble in the Big City by Meg Cabot

I’m telling you right now that I’m never going to make an excuse for devouring a good piece of chick literature. It’s an important part of modern fiction, if you ask me, and I read a good amount of it. If you haven’t read any of Meg Cabot’s works, you’re seriously missing out. The Heather Wells mysteries are some of my favorites, and for the young adult realm she’s also written the Princess Diaries series, All-American Girl, and a few more series that are currently on my holds list at the library. Meg Cabot is the type of author you want to pick up when you have a few days off work, and can curl up on the couch with a cup of tea or in a bubble bath with a glass of wine. Just like Pringles, once you start, you just can’t stop–you’ll keep flipping pages, and without a glance at the clock, you’ll reach the end of the novel and race to your computer to request or buy the next in the series.

In Queen of Babble, the reader is introduced to Lizzie Nichols, a recent graduate (well, almost) who is jetting off to London to spend a romantic summer with her British boyfriend. However, things don’t go quite as she planned when she arrives in London–starting with the horrific jacket Andrew wears to pick her up at the airport. Soon enough, Lizzie finds herself living with her friends at a chateau in France for the summer, helping the venue put on fabulous bridal affairs. Lizzie is surprised when her degree in the history of fashion allows her to save the day, and is swept off her feet by Luke, the son of the chateau’s owner.

Queen of Babble in the Big City takes place after the whirlwind summer has ended. Lizzie and her friends have moved to NYC in pursuit of their dreams, and Lizzie is forced to realize that a history of fashion degree may not have created the most economic stability in her life. However, after befriending the best-known bride in the city and taking her hand-me-down wedding gown from horrendous to fabulous, Lizzie realizes that she has the cojones to handle life independently. All is not smooth sailing, though. Lizzie’s friend, Shari, reveals her bisexuality by starting a new relationship with a woman. Lizzie’s boyfriend turns out to be a bit of a commitmentphobe, and, to top it all off, his father steps on and breaks her sewing machine. My only complaint (ahem, Meg Cabot), is the cliffhanger at the end. And the only reason I’m complaining is because I don’t have the next in line, Queen of Babble Gets Hitched, to start tonight.

Cabot has done it again, by creating a character you just can’t help but fall in love with. Lizzie is believeable and relatable, funny, and someone who I can imagine sitting down and having a diet Coke with. After meeting Lizzie Nichols, Heather Wells, and Mia Thermopolis, I look forward to getting to know Meena Harper, of Cabot’s Insatiable series, which is upcoming on my TBR (to-be-read) list.

2 thoughts on “Queen of Babble by Meg Cabot

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays – Books to Movies | Sharing Closet Space

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

