Top Ten Tuesdays – Books to Movies

I’ve recently become intrigued by Internet memes. And, although I vow not to turn my blog into a high-school era Xanga page, with quizzes and surveys galore, I came across Top Ten Tuesdays, and thought it’d be fun to try. Created by The Broke and the Bookish, Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly special in which bloggers can share their book-themed lists.

Although I can’t guarantee I’ll participate every week (you all know I’m not necessarily consistent when it comes to posting regularly), I will when the topics strike my fancy.

So, for my very first Top Ten Tuesday…. Here are… (drumroll, please)…

Katie’s Top Ten Books that I’d Like to See Made Into Movies

1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Yes, this is the sci-fi novel that fooled me. Full of cyborgs, Lunars, and androids, I even predicted in my blog post review that this to-be-published series would be the Next Big Thing, and would eventually be made into a movie.

2. Two for the Dough, Three to Get Deadly, Four to Score, and any/all Stephanie Plum novels by Janet Evanovich

I loved the first one, and want to see more!

3. Queen of Babble by Meg Cabot

I just love Meg Cabot. Her Princess Diaries books were made into very successful movies, so let’s try another one!

4. Size 12 is Not Fat by Meg Cabot

Okay, I repeat, I just love Meg Cabot. But this would be a totally different movie than Queen of Babble, because the Heather Wells series is a mystery series about a great character who we can all relate to.

5. something by Kate White

I admit, I’m currently a little obsessed. But, honestly, I think it could be exciting. I’d like to see them start with the first Bailey Weggins novel, or maybe The Sixes.

6. How I Became a Pirate by Melinda Long

I don’t often blog about my work life, but this is one of my favorite kids’ books. It so imaginative, and the illustrations are great. I’d love to see the idea expanded into a movie.

7. Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner

The only Jennifer Weiner book that’s been made into a movie is In Her Shoes. It was a hit, and Good in Bed is my favorite Weiner book, so I’d love to see it made.

8. The Giver by Lois Lowry

I googled this one to see if it had been made into a movie, and got an unofficial IMDB saying it might be released in 2013?? However, there was not any recent information, so I’m thinking this might be false information… However, this was one of my favorite reads in late elementary/junior high. (Surprisingly, another sci-fi!) I’m actually surprised it hasn’t been made into a movie already since it’s on so many required reading lists.

9. The Gardner Heist: The True Story of the World’s Largest Unsolved Art Theft by Ulrich Boser

My book club read this one in the fall. It’s an interesting work of non-fiction about a theft from a Boston art museum that is yet unsolved. I can see the story of the guys who have devoted years of their life attempting to find the answer to this crime being very interesting on the screen.

10. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

Told from the perspective of a teenaged boy on the autism spectrum, this is a powerful book, and a good story. It’s relevant to today’s current events with the focus on autism awareness.

Welp, that’s it, folks. What do you think of Top Ten Tuesdays? This one was pretty thrown together last minute–I look forward to putting more thought into future Top Tens.

What books am I missing off my list? What book would YOU like to see made into a movie?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays – Books to Movies

  1. Thanks for your visit over to my blog. Your list is great – Welcome to Top Ten Tuesday! I agree with you that Meg Cabot’s books would make great movies, as well as Weiner’s Good in Bed. 🙂 I love, love, love the idea of How I Became a Pirate. Something for for the Kiddos, right? Best wishes, and keep on reading. 🙂

  2. I’m glad to hear that Janet Evanovich’s first movie was good. I’ve just recently gotten into those books, and now I’m excited to see the movie when it comes out on DVD.

  3. Pingback: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith | Sharing Closet Space

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

