Top Ten Tuesdays – Favorite Quotes from Books

Brought to you by the creators of The Broke and the Bookish

Presenting…

Katie’s Top Ten Quotes from Books

1. “You should be kissed often, and by someone who knows how.” – Margaret Mitchell, Gone with the Wind

2. “Perhaps it is our imperfections that make us so perfect for one another!” – Jane Austen, Emma

3. “Life, with its rules, its obligations, and its freedoms, is like a sonnet: You’re given the form, but you have to write the sonnet yourself.” – Madeleine L’Engle, A Wrinkle in Time

4. “I’m right and you’re wrong, I’m big and you’re small, and there’s nothing you can do about it.

“Here it is,’ Nigel said. “Mrs. D, Mrs. I, Mrs. FFI, Mrs. C, Mrs. U, Mrs. LTY. That spells difficulty.’
How perfectly ridiculous!’ snorted Miss Trunchbull. ‘Why are all these women married?”

“I cannot for the life of me understand why small children take so long to grow up. I think they do it deliberately, just to annoy me.” – Roald Dahl, Matilda

5. “Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?” – L. M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

6. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

“It is our choices, Harry, that show us what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

“It takes much bravery to stand up to our enemies but we need as much bravery to stand up to our friends.” – J. K. Rowling, the Harry Potter series

7. “Old Marley was as dead as a doornail. Mind! I don’t mean to say that, of my own knowledge, what there is particularly dead about a doornail. I might have been inclined, myself, to regard a coffin-nail as the deadest piece of ironmongery in the trade. But the wisdom of our ancestors is in the simile; and my unhallowed hands shall not disturb it, or the Country’s done for. You will therefore permit me to repeat, emphatically, that Marley was as dead as a doornail.” – Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

8. “Neither the mouse nor the boy was the least bit surprised that each could understand the other. Two creatures who shared a love for motorcycles naturally spoke the same language.” – Beverly Cleary, The Mouse and the Motorcycle

“Words were so puzzling. Present should mean a present just as attack should mean to stick tacks in people.”- Beverly Cleary, Ramona the Pest

9. “Maybe, sometimes, it’s easier to be mad at the people you trust because you know they’ll always love you, no matter what.” – Ann Brashares, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants #1

10. “I’m telling you, it’s fu**ing hard to be classy.” – Janet Evanovich, One for the Money

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays – Favorite Quotes from Books

  1. Those were fantastic! 🙂 I love this Tuesday list of quotes. I had completely forgotten about The Mouse and the Motorcycle! I used to love the Ramona books though.

    • I just read The Mouse and the Motorcycle to my first-graders, and fell back in love with it. And, yes, I agree–I still re-read the Ramona books!

  2. That’s a god one from Gone With the Wind! I should have included ‘Frankly my dear I don’t give a damn’ lol I love that one too 🙂

    • Thanks! I remember hearing that quote from Dickens when I was little (my family listened to the story on audiobook) and finding it funny. It’s always stuck with me–I think because I felt special to have understood an “adult” joke! LOL.

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

