Goodreads

This year I decided I needed to start keeping track of the books I’ve read. I have an awful memory, and will literally forget about a book less than three days after finishing it. If someone asks if I’ve read a book, I often didn’t know… It was pretty sad.

My mom has a friend who has kept a notebook since high school, detailing every title, a quick summary, her opinion of the book, and any memorable quotes. I only wish I had thought of that years ago! Alas, I did not, and I’m sure that tens of books I’ve read will remain forgotten.

To remedy the situation from here on out, I took two measures: I started my Book Log page on my blog, to let you all know what books I am reading in 2012. And I also opened a Goodreads account. I’m really enjoying being a Goodreads member, as I can scroll through list after list of books, marking them as “read” or “to-read”, giving my own ratings out of five stars, and even voting on some of my favorites. It made the A-Z list I posted earlier this week a breeze.

Although I’ll never actually be able to add every book I’ve read in my life (because I can’t even remember what I read last month), if I keep this list going from now on, at least I’ll have them all from age 24 on.

How do you keep track of the books you’ve read?

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

