Container Gardening

Our second-floor balcony

We’re lucky to have a fairly large balcony attached to our second-story apartment home. In times of nice weather, we enjoy eating dinner, drinking wine, lesson planning, reading, or just getting some sun out there. This year, I decided to try to spruce it up a bit.

Spruced-up balcony

It’s nothing fancy, but I added a few plants and a small container herb garden. The color and life brings vibrancy to what was bland and grey last summer.

Two larger pots of petunias stand on the floor.

White petunias

Pink petunias

Planter on the railing

Dianthus

Vinca Vine

We’ve also really enjoyed using fresh herbs from our “garden” in our cooking recently.

Herbs on the railing

Oregano

Parsley

Sage

I’ve used the oregano in a few pasta dishes, and the parsley I used in a vegetable side for our family Easter celebration. The flavor is so much more full and intense with fresh herbs than the dried stuff that came in our Martha Stewart spice rack.

I’m pretty impressed that I’ve managed to keep all of these plants alive so far. I haven’t had much success in this area in the past, killing the two plants I had in my classroom this year, as well as the plant I had in college. (As soon as I moved home, I forgot about it and left it to rot in my parents’ basement alongside the boxes of plastic dishes that had come out of my college kitchen.)

2 thoughts on “Container Gardening

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

