Fish en Papillote

We got fancy in the kitchen this week, and it’s all thanks to The Scrumptious Pumpkin. When I revived our printer this weekend (a.k.a. turned it on and it worked this time…), I got really excited because it meant I could actually try some of these recipes I’ve been reading about on her wonderful food blog! (I know that I could have pulled it up on one of my various laptops or smartphones and followed the recipe on-screen, but I hate doing that.) The first one we tried? Her Salmon, Spinach, and Potatoes with Lemon-Caper Sauce. However, neither B nor I actually cares for salmon, so we changed it to Tilapia, Spinach, and Potatoes with Lemon-Caper Sauce. (Also, we had some frozen tilapia already in our freezer.)

Now, here’s the difference between Jen at The Scrumptious Pumpkin and me: she actually knows how to cook. I just follow recipes and fake it. So, her “fish en papillote” (fish in aluminum foil with veggies) may have seemed simple for her, but I was quite proud of us for creating what actually appeared to be a fancy meal. (When I say “us,” I mean me and B because this happened to be the evening that I’d accompanied 115 first-graders to the park for 5.5 hours, and was so exhausted, I hardly trusted myself to perform any independent chopping.)

Here’s how it went:

Step One (Yes, we keep a jar of marshmallows on our kitchen counter… no judging.)

Step Two (I’m obsessed with capers.)

Step Three (We happened to be out of white wine, so we used red cooking wine instead. Probably not actually okay to substitute, but hey, it still tasted pretty good to us.)

Step Four (Again… obsessed with capers.)

Step Five (Two packets, one for each of us, all wrapped up and ready to go in the oven.)

Step Six (Looks delicious, huh?)

Step Seven (I even managed to get it onto the plate while maintaining its layers.)

So, there you have it. The fanciest-looking meal I’ve ever made. And it wasn’t even too hard. And it turned out okay. AND there wasn’t much clean-up, thanks to those handy aluminum foil packets.

Moral of the story: if you get invited to our place for dinner, this is probably what you’ll get. At least until we try another Scrumptious Pumpkin recipe. On tap for next week: the Creamy Parmesan Primavera Pasta. I’ll let you know how it goes!

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

