AcCOUNTability

Losing weight is tough.

Maintaining a weight loss is even tougher.

What’s the key?

Accountability.

AcCOUNTability.

For me, it’s all about the numbers. You can’t cheat on the numbers.

I use an online tracking system to keep score of my diet and exercise. Yep, it takes time every day to track my food. Yep, it’s worth it.

A long time ago, I made a promise to myself, and it went a little something like this:

If you bite it, write it.

Anything I eat goes in my tracker. You can say it’s obsessive if you want. It might be a little bit. (Hey, at least there’s a positive side to having an anxiety disorder.) But when I know I am going to “own up” to the extra calories, it keeps me from biting into an oatmeal cream pie at a staff meeting when I’m going to go out for fro-yo later. When I look at my tracker and see that I’ve already had enough carbs for the day, I know I don’t need that side of rice with dinner.

Meal-tracking

I like how SparkPeople gives you a range to shoot for, allowing a little leeway from day-to-day.

It works in reverse as well. When I run 10 miles, and burn 1000 calories, I know I need to nourish my body by ensuring that I get enough calories that day.

I have a similar mentality when it comes to running. MapMyRun keeps track of the miles I log each day. When I’m tempted to cut a run short because “one mile isn’t going to make or break my training,” I think about how it will feel to look at that statistic each time I check my data. I’ve also been known to run an extra lap or two around the parking lot to make sure I run 9 miles, as opposed to 8.92 miles. At the end of the month, when I see that I ran 65 miles, I feel proud of myself and motivated to try to up that number the next month.

So, yes, I count calories, carbs, protein, miles, and minutes.

It’s called AcCOUNTability.

What holds you acCOUNTable?

8 thoughts on “AcCOUNTability

      • I’ve been trying LoseIt! App. Your spark people link works and something I’m comparing to what I’m doing. I appreciate your candidness about whatever ya bite ya write. I need this kind of accountbility and look forward to reading more of your blog! I love the calendar for mapping your miles you run. However, that link didn’t work. Could you repost it?

  1. How do you estimate the calories in things like casseroles? I tried tracking my eating for a few weeks while I was pregnant, but it was so much work to have to add up the calories for each ingredient and then try to estimate what fraction of the total recipe I in each portion. (Luckily I am one of the fortunate women who didn’t gain too much weight with pregnancy.)

    • Yup, it is a lot of work! That’s exactly what I do, though. I have input the recipes that we make often, and I measure out what a serving truly is. If it’s not something that I made, then I just estimate based on another Spark People user’s saved data that sounds reasonable.

  2. I also use a calorie tracker (My Fitness Pal). I think it initially raised my awareness and then became an accountability thing. Once I realized the calories in all my favorite foods I making better choices knowing that I would have to record it. My kids and I use DrawMap to record our bike rides. My son is obsessed with tracking and improving each time.

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

