Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read

This week’s hosted Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish was supposed to be about books published in the last decade that I hope people are still reading in a decade. (Yep, it’s confusing. Go ahead and re-read it once more.) However, I was at a loss with this one… Probably, I was making it more complicated than it needed to be. But, looking ahead to next week when the topic is to choose any past topic, I decided to give myself a freebie and choose a different topic for this week as well.

Before you read this, I have a confession to make. I actually possess a B.A. in English. However, I coasted through college feeling like the “worst-read” English major to have ever lived. I read the books assigned for class, and loved them. I’d spent my life reading, I felt like. But, somehow, I missed a lot of the key pieces in literature. These are the ones I really feel like I should read, if for no other reason than to add some value to my degree.

So, here are…

The Top 10 Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read

1. Oliver Twist, A Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations (all) by Charles Dickens

2. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

3. My Ántonia by Willa Cather

4. 1984 by George Orwell

5. Slaughter-House Five by Kurt Vonnegut

6. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

7. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

8. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

9. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

10. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read

  1. Oooh ahhh, some of my favourites are in that list! πŸ˜› Mind, some of the others I haven’t read either. Catch-22 and Slaughterhouse-Five are both very high on my list (the former is my favourite ever novel). πŸ™‚

  2. I feel the same way now trying to obtain my B.A in English. I feel that there so many books I haven’t read! Hopefully by the end of this summer I still don’t feel the same way.

  3. Being an English major doesn’t mean you have to love (or have read) the classics.
    I’m right here with you–haven’t read the majority of these books, yet I don’t really care to either. I’m definitely not a literature snob by any means. πŸ™‚

  4. Chiming in on the “English major whose never read a lot of these” theme – I’ve only hit Anna Karenina, Sherlock, and Great Expectations (and loved them all) . I actually can’t stand Hemingway (shock! gasp! OMG she admitted it, take away her degree!) πŸ™‚

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

