Whole-Wheat Veggie & Feta Pasta

I wrote recently about my Hamburger Salad, which is one of my go-to meals when B and I decide to “do our own thing” for a meal. I’d like to share one of my other faves when I’m cooking solo. Not that you couldn’t make this for two or more people, but this recipe uses almost all foods that I love and B can’t stand, so in our house it’s a “for one” kind of recipe.

I call it… Well, actually I’ve never named this recipe. In my head, I just call it My Pasta. But for you? Let’s go for:

Whole-Wheat Veggie & Feta Pasta

Ingredients

  • 2 oz. whole-wheat pasta (any kind)
  • olive oil
  • minced garlic
  • grape tomatoes
  • fresh spinach
  • mushrooms (canned or fresh)
  • feta cheese
  • garlic salt

Step One

First, cook the pasta. I’m assuming you know how to boil water and throw in some noodles.

Step Two

While the noodles are boiling, sauté the veggies over medium heat in a drizzle of olive oil, with the minced garlic. Start with the mushrooms and tomatoes, then add the spinach. After you add the spinach, sprinkle the veggies with some garlic salt. (Skip that step if you don’t like things salty like I do, or if you don’t have crazy-low blood pressure like I do.)

Step Three

Drain the pasta, and toss the veggies and noodles together over low heat in the same pot you cooked the veggies in.

Step Four

Add the feta while over the low heat. Go ahead and stir it together, but then take it right off the heat. You don’t want the feta to get too hot, because then it gets kind of liquid-y and weird, but a little heat makes it soft and yummy.

Step Five

MMM-mmm! This picture is making me hungry! Enjoy your colorful, fiberific pasta dish. I suggest a glass of moscato on the side.

Moscato

One thought on “Whole-Wheat Veggie & Feta Pasta

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

