Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

One year ago tomorrow, B and I were on our honeymoon in Hawaii! This is Pokai Bay Beach, one of the beautiful beaches we found.

My all-time favorite reading spot is the beach. When B and I go to the beach, I spend the entire day reading, while he snorkels and naps. It’s the perfect combination. Here are some of my favorite beach reads…

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly feature sponsored by The Broke and the Bookish.

1. anything by Kate White: When I’m at the beach, I need a book that I get lost in. I need a book that I can read for eight hours straight, from cover to cover. Kate White’s novels are just that for me.

2. the Princess Diaries series: Mia, Lily, Michael, Tina and Boris are the perfect beach companions.

3. Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner: I chose this particular Jennifer Weiner book because I remember reading it on the beach.

4. anything by Jodi Picoult: I’ve noticed that Picoult gets a bad rap on a lot of book blogs, and that makes me sad. I appreciate the captivating stories, rich with contemporary, controversial issues. I always feel like I’ve learned a lot about the issue at hand, and her novels definitely fit into that “cover-to-cover” category. Actually, Plain Truth is the only novel I’ve ever literally read cover to cover, although it was on an airplane.

5. the Stephanie Plum series: This is currently my gym read, as they’re easy to read on the treadmill or elliptical machine. Those same qualities would also make it a great beach read.

6. anything by Sophie Kinsella/Madeleine Wickham: Her books don’t require too much deep thinking, and have plenty of LOL moments. Perfect for a hot summery day.

7. Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James: I’m actually in the middle of this book right now. I wanted to read it to see what all the hub-bub was about, and let me tell you–hubba hubba!This book is intense! But should definitely be read by the pool or the sea.

8. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins: I finally read this book, a favorite of so many YA book-bloggers. It was the perfect novel to bring along to the pool. For my beach trip this summer, I’m going to have to find Lola and the Boy Next Door.

9. Something Borrowed/Something Blue by Emily Giffin: This mini-series is one that I’ve re-read at least four times, each time on a beach vacation. The story is fast-paced, the characters are relatable, and they’re definitely both cover-to-cover reads.

10. P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern: I actually listened to this audiobook while on a mountain vacation, but I can also envision readingย it at the beach.

Me reading on the beach in Hawaii–this was One for the Money, my first ever Janet Evanovich!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

  1. I don’t think I’d want to read 50 Shades of Grey anywhere outside of the privacy of my own bedroom. It just looks so awkward, you know? “What’s the book about?”
    “Well, you know, the usual. It’s a Twilight fanfic but without the supernatural creatures, and it’s basically just steamy sex scenes.”

    Haha.

    • I’m reading it on my Nook, so no one can see the cover. I should have mentioned that–if I weren’t I would definitely agree with you!

    • I’ve noticed that when you read Stephanie Plum in public, it strikes up a lot of conversation. And when people have read them, you can start sharing your favorite Grandma Mazur moments ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. It’s funny because my significant other’s name also begins with a B and I’ll often text/e-mail things like “B and I did this yesterday . . .” so reading the beginning of your post felt like reading one of my own e-mails ๐Ÿ™‚ If only my B and I were at the beach right now!

    My sister’s always told me I should check out the “Something Borrowed” series, and you’ve definitely convinced me to put it on my list. And I’ve seen “Anna and the French Kiss” on several Top Tens already so it must be pretty good!

    • That is funny. You know, I started calling him B for anonymity on my blog. But if anyone really wanted to, they’d be able to put together so many other details I’ve given, that I’m not really sure it helps. Now, it’s just a cute nickname ๐Ÿ™‚

      I recently read Anna after seeing it on all kinds of Top Tens–definitely worth the read.

  3. Yes yes yes to Kinsella, Picoult, Giffin, and James! I am finishing Fifty Shades Freed…great reads but I must admit Katie that I did the same thing as you and purchased them on my Kindle so that no one could see me reading them in public *blush!*
    I couldn’t agree more with your statements about Jodi Picoult. I do not have a bad thing to say about her. Plain Truth is on of my favorites from her, as are Handle With Care, Vanishing Acts and The Pact (I don’t think I have ever had a book pull at my “heart strings” as much as this one!) Team Jodi all the way!

    • Woohoo! Sounds like we have similar taste ๐Ÿ™‚ I finished Fifty Shades of Grey last night, and I am definitely going to have to continue with the series.

      Glad to hear there’s another Picoult-pro blogger out there. I agree, The Pact was one of her most impactful (no pun intended).

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

