Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Reading

I LOVE SUMMER! Having just finished my first year of teaching, and wondering in August, then again in October, then in December, January, and once again in March if I was even going to survive the year, much less bring all twenty of my first-graders up to grade level in reading and math, I can say that I am truly, wholy appreciating summer. Ever-so-much more than I did as a student. Summer makes the rest of the year bearable. Don’t get me wrong–I love my career. But the 10-hour days, evening and weekend planning, etc. is all worth it when you go home on a day near the end of May and know you don’t have to go back to work for two and a half months. Oh, yeah. Summer is fantastic.

I got a little side-tracked with my obsession with summer there. The point of this post (besides how fabulous this season is) is to share one of the ways I’m celebrating summer–and that is by reading. It’s my goal to spend at least an hour reading every day this summer. So, here are my Top Ten Summer TBRs (To-Be-Reads) (in no particular order):

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly special hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

1. Unbroken by Lauren Hillenbrand – This is at the top of my list because it’s the July read for my book club, and it’s a pretty long book, so I need to get started. I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews, and look forward to discussing this book (although my mom has warned me that up until page 275 it’s pretty depressing).

2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – This classic novel is one that–I’m sorry to say–I just skimmed through for junior A.P. English in high school. I want to go back and give this classic the respect it deserves.

3. The Wedding Girl by Madeleine Wickham – I love Sophie Kinsella/Madeleine Wickham. This is one of hers that I have yet to read, but have on loan as an audiobook from the library. I look forward to getting it on my iPhone and listening as I run in the coming weeks.

4. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson – I’m not really that into this series. I know, I know. But it has captivated my interest enough that I want to finish it out, and I plan to do so this summer.

5. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – Ditto #4 above.

6. Death Comes to Pemberly by P.D. James – I’ve heard fantastic things about this Pride and Prejudice spin-off.

7. The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot – Yes, I’ve read them. But it’s been awhile, and I’m looking forward to re-living Mia’s adventures.

8. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen – I’ve only read one Sarah Dessen book–How to Deal–but I loved it. So many YA book blogs talk about this novel like it’s an absolute classic.

9. MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search For a New Best Friend by Rachel Bertsche – I read a review of this book on a blog recently, and was excited to hear that the main character is a married 20-something, looking for a best friend in the post-collegiate world. I love the idea that this character might actually be like me.

10. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami – We all know I like to talk about running. So, I’d like to enter into this conversation with another runner.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Reading

  1. I really enjoyed Death Comes to Pemberley and am glad to see it’s on your list. As a fan of British mysteries, though, I have to add a little more about the author, lest anyone thinks she is just someone trying to get a book published using a tie to Pride and Prejudice as a gimmick. P.D. James is one of the best mystery writers of all time–right up there with Dame Agatha and Sir Arthur (she is also an OBE). This book is a real break from tradition for her but she wanted to try something different and, since she is a Jane Austen fan (another reason to like her!), decided to see if she could bring her favorite book’s characters to life and give them a mystery to solve. It’s enjoyable not only for the mystery but also for the update it gives all of us Pride and Prejudice fans into the later lives of Elizabeth Bennett and her family and friends. (Can I just say that George Wickham gets the life he deserves!) To make this even more remarkable, P.D. James will be 92 on August 3! She still publishes a book almost every year and they’re still well worth reading.

    • Wow, cool! I have heard of P.D. James before, but not being a big British mystery reader, I haven’t read any of her other novels. Thanks for the info!

    • Really? I think it’s good to be honest with yourself–sometimes I’m tempted to pretend that I like a book, just because it’s a classic!

  2. Everyone is reading The Great Gatsby this summer – it’s crazy! And you have to read Mockingjay! I can’t believe you haven’t already if you read the others.

    • I know, I know. I just am really not that into Hunger Games. When I finished Catching Fire, I had a lot of other things on my list that I wanted to read next… and now it’s been over a year, and I have yet to finish the series.

      • Well that’s totally acceptable. I hated the movie, HATED it. I was really into the books when I was reading them and I think my weekend off from work gave me a reason just o rush through. Catching Fire wasn’t as amazing as I expected though because the action was so subdued.

  3. A friend just finished MWF Seeking… and loved it! I’m excited to read it. Also, I’m considering getting an e-reader for this summer’s travels and other practical purposes (but I also said I’d never, ever get one…). Do you use one? Might be an interesting blog post!

        • I did borrow from the library a couple of times when I first got my Nook, and it was a PAIN. There was a software to download, files to convert, etc. Luckily, the library realized it was a poor system (and I think they were paying a lot for it), so they discontinued that service. I believe there are plans in place to start with a new system, and I look forward to that happening!

          The whole “sharing of ebooks” thing is something that I think will only get better in the next few years. I understand that it’d be difficult for them to control people swapping files around. But Nook has already started their “Lendable” books (where you can send a file to a friend and they have two weeks to read it), and I believe Kindle has something similar.

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

