Top Ten Tuesday: Connecting to Characters

One of the first reading strategies my first-graders learn is to make connections. So, for today’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish), I’m going to make a couple connections myself (ten, to be exact). Here are the Top Ten Characters Who Remind Me of Myself or Someone I Know:

Other People…

Grandma Mazur (Stephanie Plum series) – Grandma Mazur consistently reminds me of B’s Grandma H. Though Grandma H has yet to tip any caskets, or fire a gun at dinnertime (that I know of), she is very outspoken and often leaves you with an open-mouthed did-she-just-say-that kind of expression. Case-in-point… On one of B’s scruffier days, she pulled me aside and asked: “Doesn’t it bother you that B doesn’t shave under there?” (pointing to the spot underneath his chin). “Hmm… Not really,” I responded. Her next question: “Even when you’re necking?”

Oscar (The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight) – Although it wasn’t a successful romance, or even much of a romance to speak of, I did, in my high school days, meet a boy on a plane. We bonded over sky mall. And, upon landing, we did go on one or two dates. Also, similar to Oscar, I learned more about C’s family life, which was much different than mine. As I read this sweet novel, I couldn’t help but think of my own airplane boy.

Wes (The Truth About Forever) – Besides being totally swoonworthy, my best guy friend in high school was a lot like Wes. Although nothing ever happened between us romantically, we spent many an evening driving around playing our own version of Truth.

Christopher Boone (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time) – Christopher is a character on the autism spectrum. Reading from his perspective, I found myself thinking about the handful of people I know who have Asperger’s or are on the spectrum. Through this character, I believe that I grasped a better understanding of how their mind works and processes information.

the McPheron brothers (Plainsong and Eventide) – These simple, kind-hearted, Midwestern men remind me of not just one person, but of so many Midwesterners. Their characters and attitudes are the reason I loved these books, and love living in Kansas (although they’re from Colorado).

Toph (Anna and the French Kiss) – The jerky, unfaithful, high-school boyfriend reminded me of my jerky, unfaithful, high-school boyfriend.

St. Clair (Anna and the French Kiss) – You know, the guy who is the perfect balance of sexy, genuine, funny, smart, and respectable? Yeah, I married one of those 🙂 Oh, and those scenes of them trying to sleep next to one another in a twin-sized bed sounded all-too-familiar.

Myself…

Lilly Moscovitz (The Princess Diaries series) – Lily reminds me of myself. My best friend, Kelly, and I were very Mia-and-Lily in school. I was definitely the bossy one–always the one with the “grand plan”, never able to keep my true feelings to myself. (Some things never change!)

Sheila Tubman (the Fudge series) – Another bossy know-it-all. Definitely reminds me of myself at her age! I like to think I’ve changed… Or at least am better at keeping myself in check.

Mary Lou Stankovic (Stephanie plum series) – I’m not a New Jersey-ian, but I am a young married girl who is sometimes jealous of her single friends’ walks on the wild side. (Although I’m deliriously happy with my St. Clair, as mentioned above!) I can picture myself in my “mom car” (no, I’m not a mom yet, but I totally have a mom car), dressed in my idea of a stake-out uniform, grasping onto that one aspect of an exciting life.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Connecting to Characters

    • I found it difficult, too. You’ll see I didn’t find too many that were like me–and all the ones that were have the same qualities 🙂

  1. Your Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime Inclusion was so thoughtful! I also identified myself as probably more often the best friend than the main character!

  2. This one was quite a tricky one for me! Especially thinking about characters who I had traits in common with. I don’t usually see myself in characters. I must read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Working in a school I’m recently learning more about Autistic children and getting a better idea of how their mind works. There’s so much I never knew!

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

